top of page
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Writer's picturemarisnoviks

Lineup completed: welcome Keila KK!

Updated: Aug 17, 2023

Graphic: Mārtiņš Zaļūksnis

Keila KK is the fourth team from Estonia which will play in the European North Basketball league.

Tartu Ülikool entered the league in 2021, while TalTech and Kalev/Cramo joined in 2022.

The recent changes mean that the Pafbet Estonia and Latvia league will be represented by three teams: Tartu Ülikool, Valmiera Glass/Via and Keila KK.

Keila is located 30 kilometers southwest of Estonian capital Tallinn and a short drive away from the Lennart Meri international airport.

Keila Korvpallikool – Keila basketball school – was founded in 2010.

Peep Pahv took the coaching reins.

The team played in Estonian third tier until 2020.

Two seasons in the I liiga – second division – followed.

Keila KK joined the Korvpalli Meistriliiga in the summer of 2022 and also registered for the Pafbet Estonia and Latvia league.

Team hired Latvian point guard Mārcis Vītols and Croatian center Matej Radunič, as well as two Ukrainians – Andrii Myronenko and Ivan Mikhieiev.

The most experienced Estonian player was forward Kaido Saks.

The rest of the squad featured young Estonians born in 1999-2005.

Keila posted a 11-19 record in its debut season and finished twelfth in the Estonia-Latvia league – infront of University of Latvia, Tallinna Kalev/Audentes, Valmiera Glass/ViA and Tarvas Rakvere.

Three other teams – TalTech, Liepāja and a 2022 Estonia champion Parnu Sadam – finished with a 12-18 record.

Keila then entered the Estonian playoffs and lost the best-of-five quarterfinal series against Tartu, 0-3.

Tartu de-throned Parnu in the semifinals, 3-2, and dropped the finals against Kalev/Cramo, 0-3.

A new challenge awaits Keila, as the club will test ENBL waters.

ENBL teams 2023/2024

Belgium: Royal Liège Basket

Bulgaria: Spartak Pleven

Czechia: Basket Brno

Estonia: Tartu Ülikool Maks&Moorits, Keila KK

Israel: Hapoel Beer Sheva-Dimona

Kosovo: KB Prishtina

Latvia: Valmiera Glass/ViA

Lithuania: Šiauliai, Uniclub Casino-Juventus Utena

Netherlands: Landstede Hammers

Poland: Enea Zastal BC Zielona Gora, Polski Cukier Start Lublin

Romania: CSO Voluntari

United Kingdom: Bristol Flyers, Seriös Group Newcastle Eagles


bottom of page