top of page
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Writer's pictureMāris Noviks

First team from Slovakia: welcome, Inter Bratislava!

Inter Bratislava is the first team from Slovakia which will play in the European North Basketball league.

Slovakia parted ways with Czechoslovakia on January 1, 1993 in entirely peaceful way known as a Velvet divorce.

Like most European countries, Slovakia has celebrated big victories in team sports.

Slovakia won the 2002 World Championship in ice hockey, preceded by a silver finish in 2000.

Slovaks played at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa and recently qualified for the Euro 2024.

Slovakia women`s basketball team earned a silver medal at the EuroBasket Women 1997 and finished seventh at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia.

MBK Ružomberok won the EuroLeague Women in 1999 and 2000.

Ružomberok coach Natalia Hejkova added three more EuroLeague Women titles.

Inter Bratislava was founded in 1963.

The first golden era of the club followed less than 20 years later.

Inter won the Czechoslovakia championship in 1979, 1980, 1983 and 1985.

Bratislava club had some success shortly after a Velvet divorce, winning the Slovak Cup in 1995 and Slovakia championship in 1996, followed by the second Slovak Cup win in 2003.

Another golden era followed after 2012, highlighted by winning four Slovakia championships (2013, 2014, 2017, 2019) and two more Slovak Cups (2015, 2016).

Inter legend Stanislav Kropilák won four Czechoslovak league championships with Bratislava club – then Inter Slovnaft – and one more with Pardubice in 1984.

Center earned a silver medal at the EuroBasket 1985 and two bronze medals – in 1977 and 1981.

Kropilák entered FIBA Hall of Fame in 2021, shortly before his passing in 2022.

Richard Petruška played for Inter Bratislava (1988-1990) before studying at the Loyola Marymount (1990-1991) and University of Colorado at Los Angeles (1992-1993).

A Levice born center was selected by the Houston Rockets with the 46th pick in the 1993 NBA draft.

Petruška won the 1994 NBA title with the Texas club.

He accidentally dropped the Larry O`Brien Championship Trophy during team celebration.

The dent in the trophy`s basketball remained a part of the trophy until 2018.

The other Yellow and Black legends are Rado Rančík, Martin Rančík, Peter Rajniak, Juraj Žuffa and Justín Sedlák.

You can visit club`s website at .


bottom of page